The Library in Lego Form (aka the absolute last post I will write about Lego librarians)

Lego public library

Lego public library

It’s the summer of Lego Librarians! When I created my own Lego Librarian personalities, I didn’t quite imagine the wave it would create. People love Lego blocks. People love librarians. When you combine the two, you get an irresistible cultural mash-up.

The original post generated over 36,000 views and appeared on sites such as The Huffington Post, Flavorwire, Neatorama, Book RiotMyModernMet, Trendhunter, and Nerd Approved. Evidently it also took the country of Hungary by storm, as I had several thousand views from this one site alone.

After I acquired the official Lego librarian (I got it for cheap on eBay, rather than guessing among the unmarked packages at the Lego store), I decided that the Lego librarian needed a library!

Now I had a few of my own Lego pieces, but I had to ask for donations from co-workers. I also eBayed a few cheap building blocks…and voilà. I started building the Lego library. Just like the real library, there’s something for everyone: books, periodicals, technology, events. All walks of life are represented: young and old, well to do and not-so-much, people making a transition, and people on the edges of society. Here’s the local public library in Lego form…hope you enjoy it!

…and here’s a short movie created with the Lego Movie app:

56 thoughts on “The Library in Lego Form (aka the absolute last post I will write about Lego librarians)

  1. Fan-freakin’-tastic

  2. I love this so much!

  3. I am dying laughing!

  4. Reblogged this on Furry Librarian and commented:
    Gran bibliotecario, mejor bloguero: Mr. Library Dude

  5. Pingback: The Library in Lego Form (aka the absolute last...

  6. This is absolutely awesome!

  7. Pingback: The Library in Lego Form (aka the absolute last post I will write about Lego librarians) | H. R. Shavor

  8. Outstanding work.

  9. I’ve been loving your posts on Lego, and this one is absolutely fantastic! I’m now off to the store to find me some Lego!

  10. As a librarian dude myself, and LEGO robotics teacher, I really appreciate the hard work and fun you put into this project. Congrats! You could probably use the LEGO Mindstorm robotics kit to automate your circulation system. ;)

  11. Pingback: The Library in Lego Form (aka the absolute last...

  12. It’s every library I’ve ever worked in, all rolled into one – fantastic!

  13. How much fun is this? Great job!

  14. This is insanely brilliant. Bravo!

  15. Pingback: Cultural Products and Creativity: The “TMZ” Video and the Lego Librarians | All About Work

  16. What did you use for the book pieces that are on the shelves?

  17. I love this and want to make my own Lego library.

  18. This needs to join the book truck race at ALA. Best Lego Library Build!!!! LOL Can we get Lego to sponsor it???

  19. Hat dies auf Solvey Viorsdottir rebloggt und kommentierte:
    Für alle die Lego und Bibliotheken mögen, hier der ultimative Link!

  20. Pingback: ספרות ברשת: אנשי ספרות בכירים פנו לשר החינוך בבקשה שיחזור בו מביטול הבגרות בספרות; הסופר אלמור לנארד נפטר בגיל 87; נבוקוב מקריא פרק מלוליטה; ד

  21. Pingback: » Simplemente hermoso: BIBLIOTECA hecha de LEGOS LuchaLibro Latinoamérica, leyéndonos desde 2009

  22. Methinks you forgot the coffee shop by or in the library. We have to cosy up to a cuppa and the book/Kindle.

  23. Very Lovely…I love it so much…

  24. Pingback: Linkubator Sunday Roundup | August 19 – 25 | Library as Incubator Project

  25. Pingback: Des livres et des Legos | Les histoires de Lullaby

  26. Pingback: Gelesen in Biblioblogs (34.KW’13) | Lesewolke

  27. Very cool and thanks for sharing!

  28. How do you do Dewey in lego?

  29. Pingback: Lego Libraries and Book Stores

  30. Pingback: Lego Library - San Diego Law Library

  31. Pingback: Nacionalna i sveučilišna knjižnica u Zagrebu

  32. Pingback: Lego y el estereotipo bibliotecario. | Debug

  33. Pingback: 50 Library Stories You May Have Missed in August - OEDB.org

  34. Pingback: Lego Librarian giveaway reminder « Reel Librarians

  35. Pingback: Cadouri de Moş Nicolae | Bookaholic

  36. Going to reblog this as it combines my two favourite things. Wonderful!

  37. Pingback: Biblioteki (i księgarnie) całe z klocków LEGO | Pulowerek.pl

  38. Pingback: The Library in Lego Form (Biblioteca de Lego) | Biblioteca do MPT/RN

  39. Reblogged this on Nicole-Leigh and commented:
    I just think this is the greatest. This is such a great reflection of what happens in libraries. Except the dating one…I actually didn’t just date a co-worker in the library, I married him!

  40. Wow! I really love lego as well as libraries and this post just makes me love them even more

  41. What is the copyright level for these images? I’m helping my library set up a “Lego Zone” for our students during finals week, but it’s hard to find relevant pictures for college-age kids. I thought these pictures could work, and they’re super cute. Would you be opposed if I used a picture for our advertisements and signs? Let me know!

  42. This is awesome. Thank you. As a librarian with a kid who has moved on from his “Lego phase” you are my hero. Now I know what to do with the thousands of Legos my son no longer plays with.

    P.S. If you could make some suggestions as to what to do with all those tiny trains from his “Thomas the Tank Engine phase” I would be most appreciative.
    :)

  43. Reblogged this on Balduqueando 2 punto 0 and commented:
    Voy a empezar a comprar legos y crear un archivo lego con sus archiveros lego con bata ¿quién se anima?

  44. Love it! This needs to go up on Lego Ideas…

Leave a Reply

