Introducing: Librarian Job Ad Drinking Bingo!

A little end-of-the-day humor for my job-hunting librarian friends: here’s Librarian Job Ad Drinking Bingo!

It’s easy to play: just scroll through the postings on the ALA JobList site. Every time you see one these items below: a buzzword, a litany of preferred advanced qualifications, or one of those bullet points that just makes you think “WTF!” – take a drink!

If you get five in a row, shout out “Bingo!” You’ll be sloshed in no time!  (…but as those ads say, my friends–please drink responsibly).

Click the image for a larger view.

Librarian Job Ad Drinking Bingo!

 

Image credit:
Shit Outta Luck” – a Creative Commons Flickr photo by user “C-Monster.”

23 thoughts on “Introducing: Librarian Job Ad Drinking Bingo!

  1. This is awesome and damn it, I love Jean-Luc Picard.

  2. I’m in Canada and it’s the same crap ALL THE TIME!! So frustrating! I just got cut from the running after my second of FOUR stages of hiring process for a TEMP 6 MONTH PART TIME CONTRACT! WTF?!?! so frustrating!

  3. really enjoyed this thanks

  4. Pingback: Core – Librarian job ad drinking bingo

  5. All right, the latest job ad we posted had 3 of these: enthusiastic, part-time, and the 30 pounds thingie (WTF is so magical about 30 pounds btw?). Thanks for the laugh.

  6. I have seen these in one job ad or another over my career. Thanks for the smile and telling truth. Best, and keep on blogging.

  7. screwed up. should kickstartered this and made $2,000. maybe not too late. $20 reward for printed on board with game chips?

  8. too funny, love it

  9. My favourite – “salary commensurate with experience” :)

  10. Pingback: Sharing the “Librarian Job Ad Drinking Game” | Holly the Librarian

  11. Sad, but so true…

  12. Pingback: Highly Desired: Straightforward Library Job Ads | INALJ

  13. This is so spot it’s freakish – which I mean in an entirely good way. THANK YOU for the laugh. I just got another rejection, and a humerous perspective on the absurdity of it all is just what I needed. (My personal favorite: “Three years’ experience for entry-level job.” Hahahahaha!)

  14. “This is so spot it’s freakish” – should read as “”This is so spot *on* it’s freakish.” I guess I’m in editing mode vis-a-vis writing cover letter after cover letter. ;)

  15. I saw a 15 hr/week position and preferred qualification was an MLIS…raise your hand if you can pay off a Master’s degree working 15 hrs/week!

  16. Well this is just great!

Leave a Reply

