Poster Presentations 101: Creating Effective Presentations

Poster sessions are a great opportunity to get your feet into the water and show off research you’ve done, a project you have implemented, or a new service you are providing.

More low-key than a full blown conference presentation, poster sessions are akin to an elevator speech – “Hey, look at these cool things I’m doing!” – as a librarian, that’s what I love about them: I get practical ideas and advice in a short amount of time that I can adapt or re-tool for my library.

At the 2012 American Library Association Annual Conference, I presented my first poster session: Assessment into Action: Meeting the Needs of Adult Learners. It was a great experience. I enjoyed taking a topic that I was interested in and using my design/creative skills to come up with a poster to share the information.

This semester, I’m teaching an undergrad information science class at my university. One of the projects that students are currently working on is a poster presentation.

Whether the students go on to grad school or out into the work field right away, a poster session is something that they are likely to encounter. To get them thinking about poster presentations, I shared some helpful links with them covering content, design, and software to use. These links can be tremendously useful if you’re new to poster presentations, so I thought I’d share…

If you have any links to share, let me know!

My poster presentation for the 2012 American Library Association Annual Conference

My poster presentation for the 2012 American Library Association Annual Conference

6 thoughts on “Poster Presentations 101: Creating Effective Presentations

  1. Reblogged this on Stephanie L. Gross, MSLIS and commented:
    These are excellent suggestions. I mentor library students and recent grads. Scholarly communication can begin with blogging, microblogging and poster sessions. I have an account with Slideshare and Authorstream and find the shows excellent. Best of course, if they have audio or proper annotation.

  2. Pingback: Poster Presentations 101: Creating Effective Presentations | Mr. Library Dude | Flora W.'s e-Portfolio

  3. Reblogged this on The BiblioFiles and commented:
    An excellent collection of resources! This will come in handy someday.

  4. Thanks for sharing these tips! I’m a freshly minted academic librarian, and advice like this definitely helps.

Leave a Reply

